Around The Globe With Craig Price

mountainsIt’s been a while since I’ve interviewed a wonderful author and this morning when I zip over in the transporter, he sets the controls for…some mountain range.

In his own words he says why he enjoys the mountains:

All summer long when it’s beautiful, and you can look into the valleys to see the meadow and trees surrounding it. And in the winter where there’s snow everywhere, and footprints with each step, human, deer, and every other kind of animal. The spring is nice too, with dozens of honey bees in the air, buzzing around the beautiful pink and purple flowers. Then there is fall, where all the trees turn colors, and the mountain and meadows are covered in a beautiful glow of orange, red, and yellow leaves.

I’m just glad it’s not winter. Come the first snow, I’m outta here. First however, it’s interview time.

Rise of the Wyverns

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

My name is Craig, I have a record player with a trumpet horn on it, a long stem pipe, and a beautiful typewriters. I’m definitely the coolest cat in town. 😉

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

My favorite band when I was a kid was Backstreet Boys. And I still listen to them and enjoy their songs.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star?

I love words. Whether it’s poetry, lyrics, or literature. I love putting words together to create something beautiful and I’ve been doing it since the first grade.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

Brandon Sanderson has beautiful magic system, and he’s also a great guy. Other authors I really enjoy are Robert Jordan, Lindsay Buroker, Brian D. Anderson, Jeffrey Collyer and Melissa McPhail

5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

It has dragons in it. Dragons are awesome. It also has wyverns in it, and all the differences between the two species. Also magic and science are pretty awesome as well. =)

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

First, I make a general plot, then I make general character outlines. After that, I begin a chapter by chapter outline. I usually aim for 10-15 chapters. Then I start writing. For scenery, I take memories and images of different places: beaches, mountains, and all between. Once I write 10 chapters, I am able to get a better idea of where the story is going, and I continue with my chapter by chapter outline, usually staying at least ten chapters ahead so I know where I’m going.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

There are a lot of great podcasts, books, and lectures out there. One of the best podcasts on writing that I found is ‘Writing Excuses’ with Brandon Sanderson. He and a few other authors on the podcast have so much writing advice!

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

That is a fantastic shirt, and very true at times. Right now I’m having a problem of too many ideas and not enough time to write them all! I would say mine is, “I need to be the best me today, because tomorrow is always a day away.”

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I will never stop writing. I began in the first grade, and I will take my writing to my grave. I already have Dragonia 2 done, and it will release a week after the first. I’m a third of the way done with Dragonia 3, and I’m almost done with book 3 of my other fantasy trilogy, ‘Claymore of Calthoira’, so hopefully I’ll have that finished soon as well. And, I have a top secret co-author project I’m working on that I hope to be done with soon!

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

You can find more information on my website at www.CraigAPrice.com . There you can sign up for my newsletter to receive a few FREE eBooks and hear about updates of my projects, and you can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.