Bait & Switch Writing – III

I don’t know any author who thinks, “I’m going to deliberately write garbage and try to sell it. I’ll get people to pay for crap, and I’ll have the money.”

Authors want their stuff to be read and their fan base to grow. How can they do that book after book?

  1. Continuity. Not just in one story, but throughout the series. Characters need to remain true to themselves. Yes, they develop (read the next tip), but you can’t change a quiet, mousey librarian type into the foul-mouthed, power-hungry witch…unless you can find a way to make it work.
  2. Development. Over a series, the MC(s) need to develop. Otherwise, the reader has no reason to stay with the character or the series. There are exceptions. Stephanie Plum. Nero Wolfe. Perry Mason.

Like I mentioned before, with any book you’ll have fans and you’ll have detractors. You might even have those who were following a series then dropped away because of where the books were heading.

My personal example is the Hamilton Anita Blake series. I managed to get through about ten books before I gave up because the material wasn’t my cup of tea any longer. Her development was going off the deep end into territory I didn’t care to read about.

To have proper oversight over this, you must know your character. The ins and outs. Create your character profile. There are many examples of these templates out there.

However, don’t get so deep into your character that you forget to, you know, write the book. I’ve seen that happen too many times.

  1. Develop your plot and know it in and out. This is not the time for a debate between plotters and pantsers. You develop the writing style that’s best for you.

What I’m saying is, know your plot. Know the intricacies, the nuances, and where you need to shore up the narrative.

Some time ago, I was introduced to Plottr, a writing assistant that helps with your plot. With it, you have a better overview of the plot. For instance, you can see that Frank, a character introduced in the second chapter doesn’t show up again until chapter 34. Maybe, if he’s important enough, he should appear more times.

I use Scrivener, which is a very helpful bit of organizing software. This program makes it easier to rearrange chapters, add material, and put extra stuff in a place easily accessible.

  1. Stay true to your genre. Yes, there are crossovers. If you can make a space opera, romantic thriller, with zombies in cowboy hats work, go for it. Otherwise, write what the genre demands and what your fans expect. For example, can you see Stephanie Plum take off on a galaxy-wide space voyage fighting bad guy alien monsters? Okay, maybe as a parody, but I wouldn’t be interested in it.
  2. Edit. When you’ve completed a round of editing, edit again. Then again, and again…

Don’t try to edit everything at once. You’ll get lost. Instead, read Todd Stone’s book Novelist’s Boot Camp. Skip the great stuff at the beginning (unless you’re just getting started with your novel) and look for his suggestions on editing.

Take these in rounds, looking at different aspects of the book. Dialogue. Action. Grammar. Character development. And the rest.

  1. Critique groups. Find a good one whose members will tear into your book with hearty glee. Lol. Okay, I’m serious, though, find a group where you get honest feedback as well as praise and explanation for what DOES work. You don’t want all “This is great stuff, man, don’t change a thing.” That doesn’t help you. You know the first draft is crap. However, you don’t want everyone to stomp you flat without any positive stuff. That won’t help you, either.

Find a group with people from various backgrounds. That way, you’ll receive critique from one that another may miss. Plus, you’ll have people all too eager to point out, “Hey, bait and switch there. You promised this earlier, and now you’re not delivering. Better fix that.”

Conclusion

If I get cheated by a product that didn’t deliver on its promises, okay. I’m out some money. Yes, I’ll look for a refund if I spent a lot of money on a crappy product. Otherwise, I chalk it up to a live-and-learn situation.

However, if I get cheated by a book, I’m particularly disappointed. I’ve invested time to enjoy a story that gets me away from the real world for a few hours. Over the years, I’ve become choosier and won’t slog through something just because I feel I have to. No, if I’m bored or it’s not up to my enjoyment level, I’ll move on.

What I don’t like is getting so far into the book that when I’m cheated, I feel it. I expected one thing and received something else.

Make a note of the authors who’ve done that to you. If you’re writing, then avoid the bait and switch and be true to the art.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.