Bait & Switch Writing – I

Bait and switch. It’s an old game, right? You walk into the store because you’ve seen or heard an ad touting a particular product and a great price. However, when you ask the salesperson about it, he says something along the lines of, “Oh, we don’t have that product in stock, but what we do have is something that is just as good for just a little bit more money.”

They dupe you into the business in the hope of getting you to purchase the “better” but more expensive product.

I experienced a form of bait and switch earlier this year, and it got me thinking about the immoral practice in regard to writing. My goals through this discussion are:

  • To discuss my experience and see the subtleties as work with B&S. (It could be called BS, right, because that’s what it comes down to)
  • To discuss how this affects your reading enjoyment.
  • How writers can avoid this practice.

In late February I came across an ad on Facebook from a local gym. Des Moines has scores of gyms big and small. Many offer weight loss programs. Before I go any further, they all charge for these programs. If you get involved, consider the financial cost and the dedication you’ll need to succeed.

Also, many of these courses last six weeks or ten weeks, but rarely is there any follow-up. They get you in and hope you’ll continue with regular monthly membership dues. The sad truth is that many people end up wasting their money because just like the numerous diet plans, once you stop, then you’re right back to gaining weight. It does take constant attention and continuation of the plan to keep off the weight.

Now, I’m not saying that the programs these gyms offer are wrong, immoral, or not worth the effort. Just remember what I mentioned above. After the program is over, you have to keep going. That may mean hiring a personal trainer, which many of the gyms offer. Again, that’s not a bad thing to consider.

Anyway, the ad I saw said this. These are the exact words from the ad with no editing.

“I’m giving away 8 vouchers for a FREE 6-Week challenge, complete with your own personal accountability coach…”

The rest touts their trainers and the diet plan included. The main focus of attention is the wording of this ad up to the comma. What does this mean to you?

I interpreted this to mean that I get a voucher for a free six-week course. This means the course for the six weeks is free, right?

Wrong! Remember, I said that all the gyms charge for any program. The rest of the ad consists of testimonials and a place to register. Name, email, phone, etc.

I received a text to schedule an initial consultation. Remember this part, because I’ll come back to it later.

Thinking about it afterward, the consultation was pretty slick, too. The guy asked me about my current exercise activities, any issues (health, etc.), and what I hope to gain out of the proposed course.

Then he asked me what I’d set as my goal for the program. He wanted me to specify a goal, say losing X number of pounds. This is very important that he put this question to me at this point.

We talked some more, then he showed me around the gym, which was small but adequate for equipment and space. Then we went back to the desk and he laid it out for me. We talked about my schedule and I agreed that mornings were best since my evenings were busy. He recommended three times per week. I thought that was feasible.

Then he turned the page. The second page gave me two options. If I wanted ONLY the six-week course, the cost was $600. If I wanted the course and continued membership, the cost was $500.

If you’re like me, a red flag just shot up. Where’s the free part that the ad mentioned? Ah, that’s the catch. You paid up front, commenced with the program and IF you made your goal (remember that from earlier?), then you received your refund.

Let me state here that the reasoning behind the charge is legitimate. Many martial arts school owners have given this as justification for charging higher than anticipated monthly dues. You’re putting a value on the program. You invest—financially as well as personally—in the program.

For instance, if a martial arts program charged $5 per month, the mindset could be that the place doesn’t offer too much and it’s just five bucks, I can quit anytime. However, if you invested $75 per month, then you’re looking for that value in the program and the instructor(s). You want all you can get for the money.

The same holds true here. They want you invested in the program so you’ll be determined to finish and continue. There’s no value for you and no incentive for them to put on a good program if they’re not charging.

So, I’m not disagreeing with this justification. What I disagree with is that the guy and I both understood that even with the hundreds of dollars invested, following the program and the diet plan, many people won’t reach their goals. Therefore, no refund, goodbye, good luck because you’re done, or sorry you didn’t make it, but let’s continue with monthly membership, okay?

What I also balked at was the wording in the ad and the rest of the ad said NOTHING about an upfront charge and NOTHING about a conditional refund.

Review the wording. “I’m giving away (not charging) 8 vouchers for a FREE 6-Week challenge.” Nowhere is there mention of a charge or that conditions apply. Nowhere.

Notice that the guy had me nail down my goal BEFORE the cost was revealed. That way I couldn’t come back and say, “Oh, let’s shoot for five pounds.” That’s too easy, right?

Later, when I commented on several subsequent ads (because Facebook algorithms will keep throwing the same stuff at you for a while), the guy balked and tried to explain that the “voucher” meant “consultation.” That the consultation was free, not the six-week course.

Two problems with that. First, the second definition of voucher at dictionary.com is a document, receipt, stamp, or the like, that gives evidence of an expenditure.

But if you “give away” a voucher, you negate the expense. The voucher—pass, ticket, receipt—was for a FREE six-week challenge. No asterisk, no fine print saying that conditions applied. Nothing.

He also tried to tell me that the ad mentioned that you earned a refund. I reviewed every word in the ad and this did not exist.

This is bait and switch. The ad makes it sound like the six weeks are free—bait. The switch comes in the personal talk in that yes, there is a charge, and here are the rules.

This is wrong.

No, I didn’t sign up. If you want me to participate, then be fair and tell me upfront the deal.

Next week, let’s switch (a legitimate one this time) to writing and see how this practice harms readers and authors.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.