Around The Globe With Miriam Pia

Blog PicThis morning I pick up this week’s guest author and ask her where she’d like to go.

“Lothlorien,” she says.

“Well, considering that’s in Middle Earth, I don’t know.”

“How about the one in Indiana?”

When we arrive she says, “But I really like Rivendel.”

“Um, again, elves, Rings, Precious…”

“I like London, too.”

Off we go but before I can start the interview she says, “I’ve always enjoyed the Capital Hill section of Seattle?”

Upon arrival I want to grab a drink but she starts in about a nice cabin in the woods and  how, really her happy place is actually inside her soul, from being financially set, and experiencing exquisite intimacy…

I think we should get on with interview.

double_851x315

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

No answer.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

I thought I might get a job in forestry – whether it would have meant I would have been one of the lady’s in nature centers giving tours to children or working in an office or going on hikes to measure a mineral in the rings of a tree – and taking samples from trees without killing them, for a living.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star?

I tried writing a novel once while I was in college. Um, what happened was that it worked and then I edited the first draft. It entered my mind after I had written a decent novel and been published in the school magazine and my grades were good in my undergraduate English classes that maybe I could make some money with published novels. I continued to educate for and to search for a decent day job.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

JK Rowling and Neil Gaiman if they will let us eat at a fancy restaurant and get mine and let my son come along and get his.

Both are fairly close to my age and come across like pleasant English people I wouldn’t mind knowing.

I think it’s great that they have been able to earn a living using their vivid imaginations and wonder how much or how little they have written ‘what they wanted to write’.

I feel they would be delightful conversation.

Duh, but I should have said JLichtenberg because she has given me permission to call her my mentor and earned enough money to put her children through college selling copies of stories about a world she made up.

5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

I think that if you were stranded on an island you might find the book precious at peculiar times. I worry that the book as something to read might only be good when everything else is going quite well for you on the desert island but you are bored. In truth, I think that most of the rest of the time the book would serve you better as a pillow and I fear you might need to use some of it for the kindling to make a fire or to wipe your ass due to the absence of toilet paper….but don’t get me wrong, if after you were rescued you told reporters: “That lady’s book saved my life!” even if it is because you were able to start a fire with it, I would be glad my book helped you so much.

I think that if you are just dealing with having a lay over in an airport you might find the energy of the story line to be soothing and deliciously exciting all at the same time – just as it is to have good music or a good film during flights.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

Often, the first time I just try something. It is very organic. Some stories seem to naturally develop from me more easily. I can do it either way: just make something up and then go back and stick in research and fuss around with it and edit out massive amounts and then add necessary missing information into it and all of that. I have also ghostwritten and did do a novel as well as some nonfiction books so I can go from someone else’s idea, do a bunch of research (within limits caused by budgets) and write and edit along. I will always edit the work again later but I can do it that way to.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

“Just do it.” One of the most important philosophy lessons I ever learned was also one of the very first – halfway can lead to nowhere.

Alternatively, if that is not the kind of problem you have, then just read what a bunch of other writers have done. If you have mentors or friends or anyone who tends to control you then ask that person what to do and do that.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

I studied philosophy for years, before and after learning loads from practicing Christianity. I also played with pagans and watched 2000 hours of ‘dharma’ videos. I don’t feel I can concisely answer your question.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I am marketing some short fiction, and intend to get a science fiction novel released this year.

Those who search for it should be able to find something: some of it may be like the philosophical articles for a general audience or nonfiction encouragement for new mothers but it could be a fiction novel or another internal corporate blog post for a corporate writing client on ‘God and the chief executives know what’. When they hire me and tell me I’ll write it up.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

Right now, the best thing to do is just Google my name.

coverThe Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead

Miriam Pia

Genre: urban fiction, magical realism, crime fiction, mystery

Publisher: SBPRA

Date of Publication: 2015

ISBN: 978-1628572254

Number of pages:300

Word Count: 95,000

Book Description:

Frustrated by the audacity of local villains, the sheriff of Marion County turns to the mayor. Urban fiction set in a real city, The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead takes some of the charm of vigilante comic book heroism and mixes it with the nitty gritty of contemporary crime fiction.

A band of champions searches for the missing pieces in the evil plot of a local drug kingpin in The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead: An Adventure in Indianapolis.

Ideal for those who love events of the outside world and the workings of the mind – characters’ actions and thoughts are portrayed in this contemporary novel – with just a touch of magic.

authorAbout the Author:

Miriam Pia has been writing for decades, including over ten years as a professional. Most of her work was done without a byline and as a ghostwriter. This is the author’s first published novel.

http://miriampia.com/

http://sbpra.com/miriampia/

https://www.facebook.com/miriam.pia1

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

