Around The Globe With Anna del Mar

Ruby Mountains, Kebler Pass autumn

This morning I leave the cool atmosphere of Iowa to pick up this week’s featured author. When we’re in the transporter, she sets the controls for…an even cooler place with no atmosphere. Well, less than what I’m used to. After a brisk hike (uh, can we stop for just a bit and rest?), she breaks out the Cabernet boxes and we enjoy some wine at the top of one of the many Rocky Mountain peaks. I see she’s also set the time control since we’re now six months ago in the midst of fall foliage. Golds and reds blaze the landscape. She mentions this area is close to the the setting in her first book, which reminds me, I have an interview to conduct.

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

I’m not, by far and for sure, the most fascinating person in this place. Neither would I like to be. But I do feel like one of the luckiest persons in the world. First off, I’m sitting at the top of the world, literally and figuratively, and I’m here, talking to you. That’s pretty neat. Also, as a romance debut author, my first novel, The Asset, has just been released from Carina Press. This small milestone doesn’t make me fascinating, but it sure makes me happy.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

Okay then, we’ll leave the stories of angst and self-doubt for some other time. Something that may surprise people about me is that I didn’t want to write these stories in the first place. I was super intimidated about putting them down. So I held back for many years. And then one day, when I gave myself permission to write, they poured out of me like that waterfall you can spot with your binoculars across the way. I just couldn’t stop.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star?

The mere thought of ever being a rock star freaks me out. I’d freeze on stage. That is, if I made it onto the stage, which would be doubtful. I’m more suited for the quiet, peaceful ordinary life of a writer. All the turmoil goes on the page. No need to turn on for the adoring crowds. I don’t even have to brush my hair in the morning. The stories led me to become a writer and I’m at my best when I’m quietly interacting with my characters.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

It would be really cool to have a dinner party with romance authors from different times. It’d be something like Charlotte Bronte talking to Nora Roberts, Jane Austin discussing character development with Diana Gabaldon and Margaret Mitchell talking to Sylvia Day or Kristen Ashley. I’d just sit there, smile and listen.

The_Asset_High Res5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book be great company?

Because it would make you forget your troubles and not care about your four hour layover. I think you’d really get into The Asset as you meet Ash Hunter, a Navy SEAL wounded in Afghanistan who’s struggling to overcome his injuries when he finds himself staring down the barrel of Lia Stuart’s shotgun.

Lia is a fugitive, hiding in a small Rocky Mountain town, desperately trying to escape her terrifying past. She may not be a SEAL and she’s definitively keeping secrets, but Ash recognizes her for who she really is: a fighter and a survivor, the kind, caring, passionate woman he could love, if only she wasn’t so afraid to let him.

When she risks her cover to help him, Ash commits to a new mission: He will lay down his life to save hers. The way these two overcome their demons and evolve to become each other’s best assets will warm your heart and keep you rooting for them. By then, you won’t care about the layover.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

I have a very dynamic relationship with my stories. I travel a lot and those experiences spark my creativity and fuel my stories. I usually mull a story for a while before I put down a very general outline, which I’ll probably ditch on day two. Most of my creative writing happens late at night. I sit down after dinner and write until the wee hours of the morning. It’s a bit of a juggling act. I’m usually editing a couple of novels, shopping an edited manuscript, and researching and writing a new book.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin.” Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

Sit down and write your story. That’s first and foremost. I’m pretty sure every human being I’ve ever met has a novel in his or her head. I know because, wherever I go, people tell me all about their ideas. So write it. Don’t worry about the rest. Push yourself and go all the way to The End.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

Seize the trouble and run with it.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I’ve tried giving up on writing before. It didn’t work. Maybe one of these days, I’ll take a two-week vacation, but there’s no chance I’m ever stopping.

This year, I’m launching two separate series and four releases with Carina Press. I’m in the final phases of editing At the Brink, my first erotic romance which comes out in May. Following on The Asset, book two of the Wounded Warrior series, The Stranger, is due for release in August.

The Stranger is about an Alaskan tycoon who flew helicopters for the Alaskan National Guard in Afghanistan before he got hurt, and the sun-loving Miami architect who sends him into a total tail spin when she sleepwalks into his life in majestic Alaska. Talk about opposites attract. It’s like fire meeting ice. It was so fun to write.

Speaking of fun, I just wrote The End on my latest novel, tentatively entitled The Game Warden, about wounded warriors fighting intrigue and poaching in Africa.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

The best place is my website, http://www.annadelmar.com. I can also be found on FB and Twitter or you can contact me directly anna@annadelmar.com. I really enjoyed our hike today. Thanks for the chat. And now, let’s get down from this mountain with all of our bones intact, shall we?

The Asset Banner 851 x 315

Embedded Links:

The Asset first chapter: http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/excerpt.html

Wounded Warrior Series: http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/home.html

The Asset: http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/books_asset.html

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Around The Globe With Anna del Mar

  1. I stopped by to say hi and to tell you how much I enjoyed our chat and our little hike as well. 🙂 The picture is perfect! Thank you so much for having me on Brayton’s Brief.

  2. Thanks for the interview.. Come back anytime.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

