Around The Globe With G. J. Prager

coffee houseThis morning, I pick up my first of two featured authors and we’re off to breakfast in a Greenwich Village coffee house. Omelettes, bacon, coffee (well, for him, tomato juice for me) and enjoying the cold New York morning. Let’s chat while we eat.\

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating

person in your city?

I’m a writer with a couple of novels under my belt.

I’ve lived my life with a firm on eye on the world

around me, and played it on the edge never taking

anything for granted. I’ve learned a great deal about

humanity, and my work reflects a particular take that

is compelling, amusing, and insightful. I’m brutally

honest and don’t pull any punches, yet I’m a lover and

an artist behind a cynical and jaded temperment.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want

to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn

about you?

I’m also an actor!

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than

something else such as an oil baron?

It’s beyond my humble disposition in life to be an oil

baron. Besides, who would I disparage in my novels

but for the rich and powerful in this world.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you

enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

– Ernest Hemingway, just as long as he doesn’t

challenge me to a duel. I’d like to ask him a few

questions about his writing style.

– Anthony Burgess, w ho inspired me to write in ways I

hadn’t considered before. I’d love to hear him speak

with that crazy gibberish he created in Clockwork

Orange.

– Norman Mailer, just to shoot the shit with. He’d have

some great stories to tell as long as he doesn’t bring

his knife along.

lessonplan5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering

from a four hour layover at the airport, why would

your book be great company?

It’s better than looking at all the other miserable

passengers wasting away the minutes, or just looking

out on a few palm trees.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and

character development, story outline, research (do you

Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the

spot), writing schedule, editing and number of

rewrites.

Plot and character development – they go hand in

hand and it varies as to what kind of story I’m writing

and the venue it’s placed in. For me its an organic

development and I don’t try to configure the story too

broadly before I set on writing it.

Story outline – I mostly write on the cuff; when I hit a

brick wall I put down an outline to help get me back in

the direction I want. I don’t like too much form and

structure when I create; I like it loose and freewheeling

till I get down enough ideas and story line before

putting the necessary form and structure into it.

Research – I write mostly about characters i’m in

some way familiar with; I put my stories in venues that

I’ve been to for the most part. but if a subject is vague

or unknown to me I’ll google as much info on it as

possible. character and plot formation originates in

your imagination, too. it’s fiction after all.

Writing schedule – anytime, almost always in the

privacy of my own room. never at a starbucks or at a

public venue, unless I’m doing a little editing.

Editing – I’ll edit my own work till I feel ready to hire

a professional to do it.

Rewrites – I’m revising all the time; there’s never

enough.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know

where or how to begin. Your process may not work for

me. Any advice?”

Start with something, anything. It will propel you into

the story.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read,

Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is

your philosophy of life?

Playing it safe are for those who lie six feet under.

Life is a gamble and one can only truly experience it if

you take chances; getting into a little trouble but not

enough to kill you.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s

next for you?

I have another novel coming out very soon, with two

more on the assembly line. No, I am not going to stop

writing, not till they pull that keyboard out from under

my cold, dead hands.

P100007310. Where can people find more information on you and

your projects?

You can find my novel and audiobook by googling

[‘The Lesson Plan’ by G.J. Prager] I just began building a

website with a new domain name – gjpragerauthor

but it will take some time for Google to acknowledge

my existence, so its offline right now. The website will

have a slew of information about me and my novels,

and i hope it will bring more interest to my work.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

