Around The Globe With Christine Church

mansinoFirst up this morning, I meet my featured author in her Gothic Victorian mansion. Outside, is the barn, with her horse Kobeejo frolicking with other horses who are boarded here (because this is the best place around). Even when not in direct sight, security cameras keep track of Kobeejo.

Sound interesting so far? Wait until we get into the interview…

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

I am a woman who was born a long time ago with a mental disability that has destroyed all the dreams in her life, and is now trying to play catch-up, fighting to be one of the best fiction writers of all time, a #1 NYTimes best seller, while working at a horse barn all day, writing all night, and auditioning for “Survivor” twice a year.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

That I worked as a stripper for 2 years back in the early ‘90’s… I seem very reserved, but I had a nice body once and I didn’t mind showing it off for money!!

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star? I DID want to be a rock star (or marry one). But I have always, no matter what else I did, written!! I have written since I was 9 years old (maybe earlier). My full story is on my web site at http://www.christinechurch.net/about-the-author.html. Be careful, though, it’s a little sad!

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why? Anne Rice, and her son, Christopher. Anne was my inspiration in the beginner. I still feel her writing is the best. She and Christine Feehan and Diana Gabaldon all taught me what to do correctly when writing. Others… many other… taught me what not to do!

cover5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

I actually just had someone read my book at the airport, but, as a novella, it only took her an hour to read and she was upset it ended! It’s definitely a book you can get lost in and want to know what happens next. I am A.D.D. and a perfectionist, and I get bored easily, so when I am writing, if I get bored, I fix it!! So, if it doesn’t bore me, it shouldn’t bore anyone. Plus, it’s different… one of those “ground breaking” books that has the potential to change the genre. I’ve heard all this from readers and in reviews. It’s interesting, unique and unexpected. Just when you think you know what will happen, it won’t be what you expect.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

It really depends on the book. Sands of Time started as a couple of letters between the main character and her father that were inserted into a different book I wrote over 20 years ago. I decided to tear that book apart and give every character their own book, let them tell their own stories, but add in characters from past books, so there will be one main theme throughout, but each character’s book will be its own story. Researching used to be more difficult (I write a lot of historical paranormal) when there was no internet, no Google. I still use reference books often, but use Google daily. Most books are written as notes as I think of things, then handwritten in a notebook, then eventually onto the computer. Past books have been rewritten 10+ times. But as each book goes on, I need to revise less so I do less rewrites (more like 5 or 6)

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

No one has a good process for beginning. I say just start. It’s not stone, it can easily be changed. Times now are not like when I started writing with pen and paper then typewriters where you couldn’t easily change things. I still notice I’m in the habit of wanting everything perfect from the start, which comes from the past and not easily able to revise. Nowadays, with computers, it’s so easy to just change your words, the best thing is to blank your mind and just write!

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

I kind of take on Nero’s philosophy. ”Novels are fun to write, not read.” Or “When I want to read a book, I write one.” I am not a big fiction reader anymore. I do still read the occasional novella or a novel if it looks amazingly good or catches me just right on the first page. I go against the advice of all others who say writers must be devout readers.

I read a LOT of novels when I was honing my fiction writing skills, learning, studying from the “masters” in my genre. But, today, it’s hard to find a really well written book that grasps you and won’t let go. I do still use the bad ones to keep me in check on what not to do. And refresh my own skills by going back to the “masters.”

I do still read– but generally research books for my novels. And magazines on technology and science, as well as archaeology and history. I like to read my own books after they are published. Sometimes I forgot a certain part in it and I find new things I’d forgotten I wrote. I guess that is the only advantage to a bad memory. LOL

author9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I would never stop writing as long as I can! The ideas just keep coming. I have at least 30 novels in my head that want out!! I was born a writer, I will die as one, too. Right now I am narrating the audiobook of Sands of Time. And I am working on a Compendium to the book. After that, I plan to have the second installment in the Fate of the True Vampires series published in the spring. I am also working on a time travel romance, and I am pitching a Fantasy romance around to traditional publishers and agents now.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects? www.christinechurch.net

www.sandstimebook.weebly.com

http://www.authorchristinechurch.com/

www.twitter.com/christinechurch

https://www.facebook.com/SandsofTimeBookOne/

http://www.bookdepository.com/Sands-of-Time-Christine-Church/9781518815232

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27501925-sands-of-time?ac=1&from_search=1

http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=17645422631&searchurl=ref%3Dimprad64613%26afn_sr%3Dimpact%26isbn%3D1518815235%26clickid%3D2zmVZ32EZxjmREnwOXzTezgLUkXVaPwEsVTAwE0

http://www.alibris.com/booksearch?keyword=1518815235&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_source=GwEz7vxblVU&utm_campaign=10&siteID=GwEz7vxblVU-u6SeVr7UXsr1exFbPBU1ww

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Christine_Church_Sands_of_Time?id=EQDyCgAAQBAJ

http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781518815232

AMAZON : http://goo.gl/4MK9Gj

BN: http://goo.gl/9Hn6LW

Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/18zLud

Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/vHi0Bc

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

