Around The Globe With H. G. Langley

Clover-Grill-New-Orleans-entranceOn this chilly Friday, I pick up the second of this week’s featured authors. When he lets me know where he wants to do the interview, I can’t wait to get there.

New Orleans, baby! The Big Easy. Zydeco music, crawfish, oyster po’boys, the river walk, hot sauce,..what? You want to go where? The Clover Grill? Just off Bourbon Street? Well, can’t say as I’m overly impressed at first, but soon I’m enjoying ‘next level sassy’ food. (His words, not mine, but I tend to agree.). Music drifts to us from some neighboring block, and the air is full of anticipation of something wonderful just around the corner, or in the next shop, down the next street, up on the wrought iron balconies.

First, though more Clover food and a talk with the author.

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

I am L.M. Pruitt/H.G. Langley and while I wouldn’t go so far as to call myself the most fascinating person in the city, I’d say that my varied interests, stunning intellect, and knee-slapping humor probably put me in the running for the Top 100

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

I kill plants. Like straight up murder them. I’ve killed bamboo and a cactus. Not on purpose but I’m always so busy I just forget and, well…dead plants.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star?

I love stories. I love imaginary worlds and seeing/living the lives of different people. And I also suck at writing lyrics.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

Nora Roberts, because she’s one of the biggest influences in my writing career, and Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child for the same reason. They’re very different in regards to genre but they’re very similar in crafting compelling stories and making the reader emotionally invested.

Homecoming15. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your books be great company?

This is tough, and I think it depends on which book you picked up. In the case of The Andersons, it’s because you wanted something dark and twisted and with more than a dash of “what the f@%k did I just get myself in to?”

Anderson Cover.jpg.opt267x401o0,0s267x4016. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

I tend to do a lot of developing and research on the front end although it all stays in my head. If there’s something specific I need to know in regards to location or a character, I usually find out in the middle of writing and I’ll break to research and get answers then. I write from beginning to end—I don’t skip around or skip forward because it doesn’t feel as organic to me. Editing and rewrites vary—the longer I spend in the writing process, the less I need to spend on edits and rewrites because I’ve usually spotted plot holes and inconsistencies and eliminated them during the writing process.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

Nora Roberts once said, “There’s no right way to write.” I think that’s absolutely true. Find the process that works for you and use it and ignore what anyone else says.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

-Live your life for you but try and be respectful of others. You’re going to mess up and make mistakes and you have to look at everything as a chance for growth.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

So many things, both as L.M. Pruitt and H.G. Langley. I’m working on everything from contemporary romance to paranormal to the crime fiction/romantic suspense of the Andersons.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

Facebook is always the best bet—it’s where I’m at the most and where I post teasers and snippets.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

