Around The Globe With Rachel Rawlings

brazen headThis morning I’m back to Ireland in the Brazen Head pub, Dublin’s oldest. This week’s featured author and I marvel at the stone facade and comment how much of a castle it resembles. She orders a Magner’s Irish Cider and I think I’ll stay with something tame. Don’t want to be overwhelmed by the alcohol during the interview.

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

Ha, the most fascinating person in my city. I don’t think of myself as very fascinating. I’m a wife of almost twenty years, mother of three, still help my mom run her two businesses and just happen to write a bestselling Paranormal Urban Fantasy series. No big deal. Apart from my husband thinking my head is probably a pretty scary place to live, lol, I’m pretty normal.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

I think a lot of people might be surprised to learn I was married at nineteen. It’s pretty unconventional by today’s standards and even when I was graduating in 1995 most people weren’t rushing off to the altar.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as world traveler?

I’d probably still be writing if I were a world traveler. The stories might be about my scandalous exploits but there’d be stories none the less, lol! I think we all end up where we’re meant to be. I was meant to meet my husband and get married and have three kick-ass kids and then become a writer in my mid thirties. Life’s like riding the rapids, put on your life jacket and hold the hell on.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

Is there a table big enough to hold all of them? All my favorites, J.R.R.Tolkien and J. K. Rowling because I’d love to talk about the creative process- the level of detail in their worlds, Stephen King because, well because it’s Stephen King and Anne Rice because I just love her work. She’s my literary hero. I had the opportunity to hear her speak at the Philadelphia Free Library last fall and it was fantastic. Oh! And Kim Harrison and Patricia Briggs because they have written two of my all time favorite characters.

15. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

Books are a fantastic escape, aren’t they? Maurin’s world is full of adventure, or misadventure since trouble always seems to find her. There’s all of my favorite supernatural creatures and in true classic horror fan fashion the old lore holds true. What better way to spend a few hours trapped in the monotony of an airport gate than with vamps, weres, witches and a psychic? You already cast out your message in a bottle but no luck getting rescued from your desertion in the island heat? What better way to cool down than escape into a series set in the cool New England town of Salem, MA?

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

Oh man, I am such a pantser! I have a basic idea of where I want to start, the opening scene and the ending. But how I get there? That’s anyone’s guess, especially mine. I think it was J.R. Ward who said once, that she was the first reader and that is the best way to explain it. (Although I’m willing to bet she is far more organized than I am in her writing process lol!) My characters really dictate where things go and how we get there. I Google everything, all the time and always while I’m in the midst of writing. My writing life would be so much easier if I was a plotter, lol.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin.Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

Oh my goodness! Based on how I just answered your last question, I’m willing to bet my process wouldn’t work for you lol! But, I would say just start with one word, and then another and then another. Before you know it you’ll have a paragraph and then a chapter and then a book.


28. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

I don’t know that I have a life philosophy. I think for me it’s just one day at a time. Well that and Murphy’s law. I swear, I think I should just change my name to Griswold or Murphy lol!

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I don’t have any plans for the foreseeable future to stop writing. I’m a little slower, probably because I’m a pantser, but I love it too much to stop. I’m currently working on Payable On Death, a new world with new characters set in my almost backyard of Baltimore. Jax sold her soul and has spent the last few years of her life trying to earn her way back into heaven. When she receives as unlikely shot at redemption it’s too good to pass up. And of course, there’s more in store for Maurin and her motley crew. After book six in that series I think I’ll start one of the other two stand alone novels I have on my to be written pile. It’s All Death To Me about a woman who has visions of other’s deaths and tries to enlist the local police department to help her stop them before it’s too late or A Haunted Life, sort of a good old fashioned haunted house story.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

I try to be as active as I can on my Facebook page- www.facebook.com/themaurinkincaideseries or Twitter at @rachelsbooks . Of course there’s the website www.rachelrawlings.com and you can find me every year at my genre fiction convention HallowRead in Ellicott City, MD.

3

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

