Around the Globe With K.m. Randall

KM Randall Author PhotoI’m off to Maui, baby! And what better author to share the beach, the sand, the sun, the breeze and a drink with, than K.M. Randal.

I could just relax on the beach chair for hours, but when my companion coughs, I remember that I have a job to do, so better get to it.

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

I’m author KM Randall, also known as Katrina, Trina, Mommy, and Sweetie in various circles. I’m a wife and mom of one energetic little boy and a spazzy goldendoodle. I feel frazzled most of the time bouncing between writing and freelance projects and epic castle battles with my four-year-old.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

I was once passionate about acting and pursued drama as my major my first year in college. I had an inspiring professor who’d had some luck in Hollywood back in the 70s, and his blunt lectures and impassioned speeches made me eventually realize that my own interests really were pointing me in a different direction: writing, of course.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as rock star?

Well, I don’t sing very well … so there’s that. I also have always loved reading and writing. I started off writing stories and poems when I was six years old. My love of writing just continued to grow through the years until it was inevitable that I would one day finally finish writing a full book. And yay me, I did!

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

I would love to sit down with Bill Bryson and talk about his adventures and observations on life (I’m sure he’s hilarious in person too), Alice Hoffman, Tanya Huff, Neil Gaiman, and Madeleine L’Engle, because they’re some of my favorite authors and to talk writing, fantasy, and magic would be an amazing dream come true. I would love to have a deep philosophical discussion with Annie Dillard about nature and God. As a kid, I was a humongous fan of Christopher Pike (Kevin Christopher McFadden) YA novels, and I’d like to sit down with him as well because I’m fairly certain he’s a fascinating man. And of course, I don’t think I need to say why I’d also quite enjoy sharing dinner with JK Rowling.

the_reapers_daughterebook25. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

They’ll whisk you away into another place where magic and mythology exist side-by-side the mundane. You’ll forget all about your layover and fall into a different world and reality.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

While I definitely have the majority of the plot figured out before beginning writing, the process is very organic for me. I could have thought one event was going to happen a certain way and then realize while I’m writing that my characters are taking me in a different direction. So the outline sometimes goes out the window and becomes something new. I do a lot of Googling if I need to find something, or for example, I bought a translation of the Book of the Dead while writing Reaper’s to reference since the book plays an element in the story. I write fantasy and paranormal, so I can make up most things or twist old themes. I usually write my books at night as I’m a busy mom and I’m also a freelance writer and editor. I’ve never rewritten a whole book, but I usually write it all the way through and then go back for a second draft, which is majorly intense editing and cutting and creating. The third time around it depends on how much I think still needs to be changed. Once my editor goes through it, then there’s a whole new round of changes to be made, so the editing is intense.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

I’d say just start writing. The only way you’ll get a story written is by the act of doing so, and then you’ll figure out your own process.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

Anything is possible, in reality and in fiction.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I’m working on Shattered World, the second book in the Dreamer Saga trilogy. I’m also currently releasing the prequel to the Dreamer Saga on Wattpad, called Fairytale Lost. After that, back to The Reaper’s Daughter series with the second book, tentatively called Song of the Scythe. On the side, I’m also working on a standalone Sci-Fi/Fantasy novel I’m for the moment calling Sea Shifter.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

http://www.kmrandallauthor.com

@KM_Randall

https://www.facebook.com/authorKMRandall

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8125589.K_M_Randall

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

