Around the Globe with Annemarie Musawale

MI photos 008Hey, what’s this? A double dose of authors this morning. What could be better?

I’m off to Jamaica where the sand is warm and white, the sea is blue, and my interviewee is behind the bar, in a bikini, serving drinks. I’m not sure what she gave me, but it’s one of those with the little umbrella sticking out the top. It’s actually pretty good. She takes time to serve the few other customers, but the main focus is our little chat.

1. Who are you and what makes you the most fascinating person in your city?

I’m a single mom of the most well behaved child I ever had the fortune to meet (sorry nieces and nephews) and I’m also the most eclectic broad minded human being who ever lived. I see people; in a ‘Jack Dawson’ type of way and I really pay attention when I interact. I know for a fact that this is a rare quality because I haven’t yet met anyone who equals me in this regard. I’m a little bonkers, but then, all the best people are, and I can live in my head so much its like a city of its own in there…full of stories.

2. Without revealing a deep dark secret (unless you want to), what one thing would people be surprised to learn about you?

People would not be surprised to learn anything about me I don’t think because I’m an open book. What I’ve observed people being surprised at which I don’t know why it is; is how well I can cook. Maybe I look like a take out kinda girl (which I am – I don’t discriminate when it comes to good food) but I love to eat and so I love to cook.

3. What interested you to become a writer rather than something else such as a professional mountain climber?

Well, you say that like it was a decision I took one day. It wasn’t. However being a mountain climber was never on the cards considering how terrified I am of heights. Writing is just something I’ve always done; the stories have always flowed. You’d do better to ask, why did you decide to publish? And the answer to that is that I wrote a story which I was so proud of; I wanted everyone to read it.

4. Writers are readers. With which author(s) would you enjoy sharing dinner? Why?

I’d really love to have dinner with Diana Gabaldon because she’s so sassy and naughty yet nurturing and generous with her advice and knowledge. She’s also a scientist like me, she published her first book at around forty, like me…basically we have a lot in common…except she’s a bestselling author and I’m not. I’d also like to sit down with J.K Rowling. She’s so unafraid to speak her mind and the way she wove the whole Harry Potter thing together so seamlessly and brilliantly I just…bow down to her.

Thoughts From Mya5. If I were stranded on a deserted island or suffering from a four hour layover at the airport, why would your book(s) be great company?

Well for one thing, it’d give you perspective on just how much worse things can get; they’d also hopefully make you laugh and cry and forget that you’re in a world of hurt.

6. Share your process of writing in regards to: plot and character development, story outline, research (do you Google or visit places/people, or make it up on the spot), writing schedule, editing and number of rewrites.

Well first I day dream and my characters begin to form themselves in my mind, take on character; by the time I put them down on paper, they have their own ideas on where they want to go and what they want to say. So I just sit back and let them do their thing. After that, I send them off to a beta who does the re-read and the correcting, makes suggestions on how to make it better. I might read through it again to just enjoy the story. Sometimes, something occurs to me to make the story better. Sometimes I think its just perfect the way it is. Then I put it up on site to be critiqued and then take the most commonly occurring suggestions for change and implement them. After that its up to the reader.

7. “I think I have a good idea for a story, but I don’t know where or how to begin. Your process may not work for me. Any advice?”

My advice would be to start. Sit down in front of your computer or paper or recorder and begin to tell the story. Everything else will follow from that.

8. I saw an amusing T-shirt the other day which read, “Every great idea I have gets me in trouble.” What is your philosophy of life?

Life is Short; Do it Now.

9. Please tell me you’re not going to stop writing? What’s next for you?

I’m writing about three stories at a time at any one time. There is no way that I’m stopping. Expect a sequel.

10. Where can people find more information on you and your projects?

I’m on about.me (Annemarie Musawale), Facebook (Annemarie Musawale), twitter (@amusawale), Instagram (fictionistah), tumblr (coincidenceiscancelled), blogger.com (Child Of Destiny The Series), word press (Thoughts from Supernatural), hub pages and ezine articles.

I’m a prolific writer, eclectic in my tastes and I have opinions. Book wise my main modes of communication are my Author page on Facebook and my book diary on blogger.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

