Food For Thought: Iowa Beef Steakhouse

iowa beef steakhouse

Iowa Beef Steak House

1201 East Euclid Avenue

Des Moines, IA

515-262-1138

www.iowabeefsteakhouse.com

 

On this Friday morning, investigator Harry Reznik enters the homicide department.

***

 

“Mornin’ Harry,” greeted Captain Glynis ‘GG’ Gravatte. “Why the long face? Still thinking about the Nielsen case?”

“Huh? Oh, hi Cap,” Harry said. “No, I’m not worried about that. I’ll probably have an arrest this afternoon.”

“The sister in-law?”

“Yeah, jealousy can be a heckuva motivator.”

“So why the frown?”

“Just wondering where I might go to dinner tomorrow night.”

Gary Wang, another investigator, stopped inputting information into his computer.

“How’d you like the steakhouse last week?”

Harry shrugged. “It was okay.”

“Not too impressed?” Glynis asked.

“Well, I enjoyed the decor,” Harry said. “Some woody tones and colors, like if you’d come in off the ranch.”

“Sounds all right.”

“One of the features is that customers can cook their own meat. They have a large charcoal grill. Several good selections. A 14 ounce filet, 20 ounce New York Strip, even chicken breasts.”

“Chicken at a steakhouse?” Wang pondered. “Doesn’t seem right.”

“Hush,” Glynis said. “Go on, Harry.”

“They’re a bit pricey. Your chicken, Gary, was the least expensive item at around $15. The rest were $24 on up. I had the 20 ounce ribeye. I chose to let the kitchen cook it.”

“How was it?”

“Pretty good. I enjoyed the taste of the steak. The potato was about average.”

“I hear a ‘but’ coming,” Glynis said with an arched eyebrow.

He shrugged again. “I figure if you’re going to charge me twenty-eight dollars for a steak, everything should be above average, including the salad bar. I like a good salad with my meal but the choices of toppings were limited-no mushrooms and I like mushrooms-and the lettuce wasn’t fresh. It wasn’t brown and wilted, just not fresh.”

“Sorry.”

“They’re open every day at five, so no lunch menu. They do have nightly specials and accept reservations. The seating area can accommodate larger parties.”

“So where are you thinking about for tomorrow night?”

“I don’t know,” Harry said and sat behind his desk. “I’m thinking maybe pizza.”

“Okay then,” Glynis said. “Well, keep me up to date on Nielsen.”

“No problem. I should have the evidence later today to get an arrest warrant.”

“The sister in-law,” Gary said. “Heard she was a feisty one. Are you sure you won’t need some backup?”

“If I do, I know who to call.”
“Why thank you Harry.”

“Yeah, I just passed Ol’ Morton out in the hall.”

“The janitor? He’s like 89 years old.”

“You ever arm wrestle him?”

“Huh?”

“He’d kick your behind without breaking a sweat. Yep, I think Ol’ Morton would do just fine.”

“You’re cruel, Harry,” Wang said and turned back to his computer. “Real cruel.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

